Did you know that Indian Administrative Services were started by Britishers?

The Indian Civil Services is a central government service which is responsible for administering the government of India. The ICS is comprised of three All India Services – the Indian Administrative Service (IAS), the Indian Police Service (IPS) and the Indian Forest Service (IFS).

The Indian Civil Services was created in 1858 by the British government as part of their colonial policy of indirect rule. The ICS was modeled on the British civil service and was intended to be a route for social mobility for the British-educated elites of India.

The Indian Civil Services ICS was composed of two types of examinations – the Provincial Civil Service (PCS) examination and the Indian Civil Service (ICS) examination. The PCS was open to any British-educated person, regardless of caste or creed, while the ICS was open only to members of the upper castes.

The Indian Civil Services ICS has undergone a number of changes since its inception, but the most significant change came in 1992 when the government of India decided to open up the ICS to all citizens of India, regardless of caste or creed.

Indian Engineering Services

The Indian Engineering Services (IES) is a civil services exam conducted by the Union Public Service Commission. The IES is an all-India examination for admission to the various engineering services of the Government of India and for recruitment to posts in public sector undertakings and other organizations.

The IES was first introduced in 1924 and was open only to male candidates until 1976, when it became open to women as well. The exam has been held annually since then, except from 1942–1946 due to World War II

In order to be eligible for the Indian Engineering Services (IES), one must have a bachelor’s degree with at least 50% marks or equivalent CGPA from a recognized university.

Indian Administrative Service (IAS)

The Indian Administrative Service (IAS) is the civil service of India. The Indian bureaucracy has two wings: the All-India Services and the Central Civil Services.

The IAS is one of the three All India Services – along with the Indian Foreign Service and the Indian Police Service – under the “All India Services Act, 1951”. It was established in British India by Lord Curzon in 1896 as a part of his reforms to create a class of “highly educated but less expensive” civil servants, who would serve primarily in provincial administration. This act created what was called an Imperial Civil Service, made up of Indians only. The original intention was to select candidates on merit alone for positions in government, without any regard for social status or wealth; however, this was soon amended to include a degree requirement.

Indian Police Service (IPS)

Indian Police Services is the police agency of India. It is one of the largest law enforcement organizations in the world.

The Indian Police Service (IPS) was created by the British Raj in 1861, after the Indian Rebellion of 1857. The service was retained after independence in 1947 and continues to serve under constitutional safeguards for protection against arbitrary dismissal or interference with its functioning.

The IPS operates as a three-tier system, with police officers at state, district, and sub-divisional levels. The IPS has a strength of about 250,000 sworn personnel and is headed by an officer from any one of India’s 27 states who holds the rank of Director General or Inspector General depending on which tier he or she belongs to.

Indian Forest Service (IFS)

The Indian Forest Service is the oldest of India’s Central Civil Services. It is a premier service of the Government of India.

The Indian Forest Service has a long and glorious history with its origins going back to 1864, when Sir Dietrich Brandis, then Inspector General of Forests in India, was appointed as the first Conservator of Forests in British India.

The Indian Forest Service was established as an All-India service on 1 April 1864 by The Indian Forest Act, 1878. It is the oldest Central Civil Services, with its antecedents going back to the Imperial Forestry Service and earlier to the Imperial Department of Woods and Forests in Britain.

Indian Statistical Services (ISS)

Indian statistical services are used in a variety of fields such as agriculture, industry, education, health and social welfare.

The Indian Statistical Institute (ISI) is the premier institute in India for training and research in statistics. It was founded by Prasanta Chandra Mahalanobis in 1931.

In Conclusion we got to know about different Indian Civil Services.

Let you friends know about this page!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top